TNPS “…the sound of a human head being smashed”

TNPSHailing from Southend-on-Sea and with their debut album ‘Beat Pyramid’, remaining largely under the radar of a lot of electronic music fans, 2009 has seen These New Puritans regroup, revise and return with their sophomore offering ‘Hidden‘. A work of sonic enigma, deep with complex drums, sloganeering lyrics and sub-heavy beats.

Set for release on January 18th 2010, ‘Hidden’ was produced by TNPS’s Jack Barnett and Graham Sutton (Bark Psychosis, Boymerang) and mixed by Dave Cooley (J Dilla, MF DOOM), the latter influences very apparent amongst the sound of six-foot Japanese Taiko drums, a thirteen piece brass and woodwind ensemble, prepared piano, a children’s choir and the ethereal voice of Heather Marlatt from dream-pop group Salem.

Sound nerds out there may take interest in the Foley recording techniques the band employed in order to achieve their distinct sound. These included sampling a melon with cream crackers attached being struck by a hammer as a way of simulating the sound of a human head being smashed. Dark.

These New Puritans‘Hidden’ Album Preview

Album track list:
1. Time Xone
2. We Want War
3. Three Thousand
4. Hologram
5. Attack Music
6. Fire–Power
7. Orion
8. Canticle
9. Drum Courts–Where Corals Lie
10. White Chords
11. 5

…and for those of you that cannot wait, 7-minute single ‘We Want War’ will precede the album on January 11th. See the 7 minute promo video below, a stlyish homage to ballistic weapons testing.

These New Puritans will play London’s Bush Hall on the 25th January with tickets available from / Box Office : 0844 576 5483




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s